Solitude

I love to run.

Well, not maybe the actual one-foot-in-front-of-the-other part of running, but more like the being-alone-with-my-thoughts-in-nature part. My relationship with running has evolved quit a bit since I first laced up almost 20 years ago.

I started running so I could drink more wine without the guilt. It was an easy exercise I could do anywhere with nothing more than a pair of shoes and a sports bra.

While I still enjoy a glass or two of wine, these days I find being able to spend time alone more important. Running is my “me” time. I can get away from work and kids and just let myself breathe. I also find myself lacing up when I get stuck on an issue at work. Moving my feet helps clear my head and I often come back with a fresh perspective and a solution. It’s another benefit of working from home.

Lately though, I’ve had a partner on my runs. Finn has been training with me for a race we are running together in mid-March. While I miss the solitude of running on my own, I am enjoying the novelty of having a running partner.

He pushes me to run in miserable  weather. If it were up to me, I'd be in my jammies under a blanket inside!

He pushes me to run in miserable weather. If it were up to me, I’d be in my jammies under a blanket inside!

I don’t get much alone time with my oldest. He has a pretty busy rep hockey schedule and is usually on the ice or practicing with his dad, leaving me to entertain baby sister. Our runs have given us time to chat about his life, laugh at jokes and just have fun together. It’s really a special gift and I appreciate every minute of it.

I’m sure he will eventually get bored running with his mom and I’ll go back to my solitary runs. In the meantime, I am embracing the companionship.

Solitude #Photo101

Enjoying the solitude while breathing in the salty sea air in Mexico’s Mayan Riviera

Leave a Reply

