Let’s Make Every Day Bacon Day

Get out your pork products people, because today is National Bacon Day!

There is nothing better than the smell of bacon frying on the stove. Well, maybe sitting on a beach in Florida would be better right now, but bacon would definitely come in a close second. If we weren’t smack dab in the middle of a deep freeze, bacon would definitely come in first, with Florida a close second. Unless we take it to the next level with a bacon sandwich on the beach in Florida. But now we are just getting crazy.

So, it’s bacon day and I have to celebrate. We often do supper for breakfast so I could just do a quick scrambled eggs and bacon, or pancakes with a side of bacon, but ever since my epic Nutella Day fail, I find it necessary to bring my A game. I may have performance issues.

So rather than simply making waffles and bacon, I created a little “breakfast fusion” and made Bacon Waffles. I got the idea at a hockey tournament in Buffalo. One of the moms ordered a bacon waffle and was surprised to find two strips of bacon nestled inside her waffle. It didn’t look very appetizing, but I really liked the idea and thought I could expand on it.

Bacon Waffle FusionSo I fried up some yummy bacon, chopped it into bite-sized pieces, and sprinkled it over the batter in my waffle maker.

Bacon waffle fusionThree minutes and a bit of syrup later, we were in bacon heaven.

I will never be able to eat plain waffles again.

Bacon Day Every Day

Leave a Reply

